New Madrid

With origins firmly rooted in the revered southern music town of Athens, GA, New Madrid first arrived on the scene with their 2012 debut, Yardboat, and will soon release their fourth full-length on April 30, 2021 via Lemonade Records. The 10-song set is self-titled to mark a renewed focus and finds the four-piece (comprising Phil McGill, Ben Hackett, Alex Woolley, and Graham Powers) revisiting the southern indie rock sounds of their very first recordings while exploring new elements of dreamy psychedelia, jangly pop, and energetic post-punk. Writing and recording the forthcoming album started in the immediate aftermath of 2016’s magnetkingmagnetqueen (New West Records), and didn’t conclude until early 2019 when the band brought in Drew Vandenberg (Futurebirds, Bambara, Faye Webster) to produce and engineer the project. The time spent has delivered a collection that Hackett describes as “all the things we liked about our previous albums with new stuff put on top of it,” adding, “It feels like a cool re-set. This is the closest to what the band has always sounded like in our heads.”


A Brief History of Athens, Georgia

By New Madrid | April 22, 2021

A Brief History of Athens, Georgia

New Madrid’s Phil McGill premieres a new track — and talks with his local heroes Dave Schools (Widespread Panic) and Vanessa Briscoe Hay (Pylon).